International Congress of Mathematicians
August 13 - 21, 2014
Coex , Seoul , Korea
My page
Site map
Contact us
About Awards
Home > Awards > About Awards
Rolf Nevanlinna Prize
The prize was established in 1981 by the Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union and named to honour the Finnish mathematician Rolf Nevanlinna (1895-1980). Like the Fields Medal the prize is targeted at younger mathematicians, The prize was first awarded at the 19th ICM in Warsaw, Poland, 1983.
Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize
The Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize for Applications of Mathematics is a mathematics award, granted jointly by the International Mathematical Union and the German Mathematical Society for "outstanding mathematical contributions that have found significant applications outside of mathematics". The award receives its name from the German mathematician Carl Friedrich Gauss (1777-1855). With its premiere in 2006, it is awarded in every four years, at the opening ceremony of ICM.
Chern Medal Award
The Chern Medal Award is a mathematics award, named in honor of the late Chinese mathematician Shiing-Shen Chern (1911-2004). The award is granted jointly by the International Mathematical Union and the Chern Medal Foundation (CMF) to an individual whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of mathematics. The first award was granted at the ICM in Hyderabad, India, 2010.
Leelavati Prize
Since 2010 the International Mathematical Union also awards the Leelavati Prize at the closing ceremony of ICM to recognizes outstanding public outreach work for mathematics. Since 2014 this prize is sponsored by Infosys.
Abel Prize
The annual Abel Prize is not directly related to the International Mathematical Union but is an international prize supported by the International Mathematical Union. The prize is named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829) who proved the impossibility of solving the quintic equation by radicals. The first prize was awarded in 2003, and it is awarded annually to one or more outstanding mathematicians, see the website The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters announces the Abel Laureate in March and the prize ceremony is in May in Oslo. The prize is presented by the King of Norway.
Copyrights ⓒ 2010-2015 International Congress of Mathematicians 2014 All right Reserved.
The Korea Science and Technology Center 710 New Bldg., 635-4 Yeoksam-dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-703, Republic of Korea